top of page

"A perfect Puritan"


Cory Library_Lovedale Collection

Had fun today with the Lovedale school record books. They turned out not to be very relevant, but were very distracting. Poor plodding, earnest William Mpamba (above) made me laugh, and there were many more comments that could absolutely never appear on reports today. Joel Mpondo, for example, "is a soft lump, without much sense or moral vigour," while Charles Mtila "is dull, and any mental thought is evidently a slow process"! My favourite, though, is Chalmers Mbwana, who "may try to pay attention but his incorrigible sleepiness overcomes him", and whose progress is "Slow, on account of his sleeping propensities."

These nuggets brightened my final day at the Cory Library, before I head back to Cape Town tomorrow. I think I'l miss my little routine of commuting to the radio ("Radio 2000: our music, your memories"), taking over the reading room, and drinking Five Roses tea in the cafe. Then again, I'm looking forward to a weekend away from the books, and feeling that a deserve a bit of respite before launching into part two of my African adventures!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page