top of page

Under African Skies

The skies in South Africa's western cape are currently overcast, a bit drizzly, and really rather more like a Scottish summer than I might have expected. Except that it started getting dusky at 6 pm which, coming hot on the heels of the northern hemisphere's longest day, feels quite disorientating. It is a helpful reminder, however, that I am in fact on the other side of the world from where I began yesterday morning. Even a long flight is so fast as to make it difficult to grasp quite how far you've travelled. During smooth flight, I forgot I was even in the air, realising with a literal jolt every time we hit a patch of turbulence.

But in Africa I am, and had a quiet day today getting used to the idea. Transported into Stellenbosch by my wonderful and accommodating hosts this morning, I have had the chance to explore the town, and find my way to the key sites: the theology department, the University library (above, the entrance hidden under the bridge walkway), and the Dutch Reformed Church archives. Yes, researchers really know how to have a good time!

Tomorrow, the real work will begin. I'm hoping for more 'bad' weather, otherwise the temptation to step out of the library to sample one of the many cafes and bars in the sunshine might be irresistible. That said, I am looking forward to getting stuck in now, and with a bit of preparation, luck and assistance hope to start making the time really productive. For now, though, there's valuable sleep to catch up on ...

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page