top of page

Preparations


Map in James Stewart Dawn in the Dark Continent (Edinburgh & London: Oliphant Anderson & Ferrier, 1903), Univeristy of Glasgow Library Collection

"Ethiopia shall soon stretch out her hands unto God." Psalm 68:31b

This verse from Psalms was popularly used by Victorian missionaries to justify their activities across Africa. It implied that the divine will was for Africa to be encompassed within the care of their God, and also that Africa itself had a desire to know and participate in the Judeo-Christian God. The map of 'Africa 1803' above indicates the sketchiness of early missionary knowledge of the African continent, and that this contributed to a particular interpretation of scriptural references to 'Ethiopia' as a generic term for a considerable portion of it.

As I prepare to travel to South Africa and Malawi, researching the history of visual art and imagery in missionary identity and practice, I follow some of the same geographical paths as those missionary pioneers. The knowledge and aims I take with me, however, are very different. I am mindful of the challenges and possibilities of post-colonial Africa, and hope my cultural sensitivity as well as my academic rigour prove adequate in the research I undertake.

And of course, as well as the serious matters, I am about to spend a month travelling to new places, meeting new people and (hopefully) having some fun along the way.

Let the adventure begin!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page